MEDIA ADVISORY: Aeronautics Commission Set to Welcome New Commissioner and Take up Aviation Economic Study and 2017 Legislative Agenda


July 7, 2016

Oklahoma City, OK


Who:            Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission

What:           Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission Meeting

When:          Thursday, July 7, 2016, at 10am


                     FIRST FLOOR COMMISSION ROOM

                      200 NE 21ST STREET

                     OKLAHOMA CITY OK


The Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission (OAC) will meet tomorrow morning welcoming new commissioner Jerry Hunter and to discuss several agenda items including the agency’s report on legislative, congressional and regulatory updates.     

A presentation of the Commission’s state legislative agenda for the 2017 session will be at the forefront including discussion on the increase of the state’s aviation fuel tax, airport inspector duties in state statute, exceptions to the aircraft excise tax, and Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS) state regulation beyond the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Part 107 rule.  Also being discussed is clean-up language for the Aircraft Pilot and Passenger Protection Act (APPPA).

The Commission will also be briefed on the very important federal FAA Reauthorization, Pilot Bill of Rights, and FAA Pt. 107, Small Unmanned Aircraft Regulations.  Director Vic Bird will discuss emerging UAS regulations and rules and the safe integration of UAS into the national airspace.  Oklahoma has a strong aviation heritage and it is a natural progression for the state, and specifically the OAC, to lead in policy development in state UAS regulation.

Bird will apprise the commission on a Congressional briefing which occurred at Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center. He will inform the Commission regarding the new earthquake working group established with the Office of Emergency Management and a new Oklahoma organization for pilots founded as the OK Business Aviation Association.  He will also give a briefing on the Norman Chamber Aviation Committee Luncheon, the F-35 Task Force and the American Association of Airport Executives (AAAE) and United States Contract Towers Association (USCTA) Policy Board Meeting and Contract Tower Workshop in Washington, DC. Including delegation visits and FAA Reauthorization.

The Commission will be updated on the economic impact of aviation and aerospace study previously approved, and the outcomes expected at the conclusion of $540,000 study, half of which is being paid for by the FAA.  The Commission will also consider grants for Okemah Municipal Airport, Halliburton Field near Duncan, and Scott Field near Mangum.  Applications for the aviation education grants that were due at the end of May will be discussed as they will be decided upon at the August 11 meeting.


Topics will cover important events and activities of the agency in a report to the commission.

Aeronautics Commission:

•Chairman Michael Ray, District 3

•Vice Chairman Weston Stucky, District 4

•Secretary David Conway, District 2

•Commissioner Joe Harris, At Large

•Commissioner Dave Amis, District 5

•Commissioner Kevin Potter, District 1

•Commissioner Jerry Hunter, At Large

 Commission Facts & Figures:

  • The Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission (OAC) is an agency of state government that is responsible for promoting aviation in the State. Under the supervision of the Oklahoma Secretary of Transportation, the Commission fosters the growth of the aerospace industry and ensures that the needs of business and communities in the State are met by the State's airports. The Commission encourages the establishment and maintenance of public airports, including the preservation and improvement of the State's 110 public airports.

  • The Oklahoma Aeronautics Commission's mission is to promote aviation, which includes ensuring that the needs of commerce and communities across Oklahoma are met by the state's 110 public airports that comprise the state’s air transportation system, and ensuring the growth and vitality of the state's aerospace industry.

  • The Commission is composed of seven members, each appointed by the Governor of Oklahoma, serving six-year terms. Five members are appointed from among Oklahoma's five congressional districts with the remaining two appointed at-large. The Commission is responsible for appointing the State Director of Aeronautics to serve at its pleasure. The current Director is Victor Bird, having served in that position since December 2002.

  • The Commission was established in 1963 during the term of Governor Henry Bellmon.